Move to Trash
Anything you remove from Google Drive will be placed in your 'Trash' until you permanently delete the files or restore them. Google will not delete your files if you move them to trash. The files will just sit in your trash until you decide to delete or restore them. Once you delete your files in your trash, they are gone forever.
Permanently Delete Files and FoldersYou can permanently delete files and folders by emptying the trash. Before you empty the trash, make sure that you won’t need the file or folder in the future. Google will be able to help you recover a deleted file for a limited time, but after the file has been deleted from Google’ systems, the files are gone forever. Read about Google Drive’s deletion and recovery policy.
To permanently delete files and folders that you own, follow these steps:
- Go to 'Trash' in the left-hand side navigation in Google Drive.
- Select the item(s) you want to delete.
- Click Delete forever.
Posted by: Lisa Bono