The suggested edits will appear in the document along with a comment explaining the edit.
The owner of the document and others with "can edit" permission will be able to accept or reject those suggested edits similar to Microsoft Word Track Changes.
People with "can view" access will not be able to see the suggested edits (until the suggested edit is accepted).
Viewers will also no longer be able to see regular comments, which is a change from today.
If you have "can edit" permission to a document and wish to only make suggested edits, you can switch from "Editing" to "Suggesting" by clicking the pencil icon located underneath the blue share button (upper right corner of the page).
More changes to Google Drive coming soon!
Here's a sneak peek: Meet the New Google Drive
Posted by: Lisa Bono